Oakview Lake Reviews

All of these 5 stars are for real - you'll find the exact same hand-written versions on the bookshelf in the lodge.

  1. Duncan de Gruchy

    8th Year Visiting Oakview Lake

    By Duncan de Gruchy on 12 October 2019

    Highlight - Back to back to back 40s!

    Fishing Tactics: How to Catch Carp Using Slack Lines

    Catch: 3 x 40s, 8 x 30s and 5 x 20s. Total 16 carp, fishing days only.

  2. Stephen, Kathy & Dan Eastwood

    Warm Welcome Back

    By Stephen, Kathy & Dan Eastwood on 5 October 2019

    Warmly welcomed back to Oakview. All of us have made the most of our week here. The cottage is very comfortable and feels like a real home from home, except for the new oven (Confused.com!). The only addition we think would be a help would be a heater (since put in place for the Autumn). The whole site is a credit to your hard work Martin and Shirley.

    Fishing and Tactics: Weather changeable - windy and heavy showers at start of the week, with better weather at the end (sun in the afternoons). Cell boilies worked best.

    3 x 40s, 2 x 30s and 6 x 20s. Best fish 42lb 6oz.

  3. Geoff Matthews and Glen Lunn

    Great Week Once Again

    By Geoff Matthews and Glen Lunn on 28 September 2019

    Once again a great week and accommodation second to none. Great to see Martin and Shirley again - had a peaceful and relaxing week, apart from being interrupted by the fish! Many thanks, Geoff & Little Wilf.

    Fishing Tactics: Boilies and maize.

    33 Carp: 2 x 40s, 15 x 30s, 15 x 20s and 1 x 19lb.

  4. Phil and Jan Calladine

    Lost Count Of Our Visits

    By Phil and Jan Calladine on 21 September 2019

    Oakview never fails to deliver: Excellent hosts as always; great accommodation; stunning surroundings and great fishing. Lost count of our visits, but back in 2020 (twice) - you can't have too much of a good thing (think I wrote that last time!!). Many thanks, Phil & Jan.

    Fishing Tactics: Nut crunch and krill boilies over mixed particle.

    1 x 30, 7 x 20s and 1 small.

  5. Vic, May & Kevin Priest

    Could Not Ask For Better

    By Vic, May & Kevin Priest on 14 September 2019

    We could not ask for better hosts than Shirley and Martin. Always ready to go the extra mile if needed, to make your stay enjoyable. The lodge is always spotlessly clean and comfortable with a beautiful view down to the lake, and in such a peaceful setting you can leave all your problems behind you and just enjoy the ambience and the fishing.

    The FISHING! The reason we visit. The strong healthy carp in pristine condition, and growing larger every year. They certainly give you a run for your money, my arms are aching already. We have already had two carp over 40lb each plus several 30s and 20s et cetera and only halfway through our week. A very big thank you to our hosts.

    PS it’s now the end of our holiday and as an oldie I’m completely worn out from catching these pristine carp, but can hardly wait until we return again next year. Our sincere thanks to Martin and Shirley - The Priest family.

    21 Carp - 4 x 40s, 7 x 30s, 5 x 20s, 3 x teens and 2 under 10lb

  6. Philip English & Brian Latheron

    Better and Better

    By Philip English & Brian Latheron on 7 September 2019

    Our 4th year here and things just seem to be getting better and better. Great venue, excellent fishing and quality fish. So sorry we're not coming next year. Martin and Shirley are perfect hosts in every way. Thanks for some lovely memories once again. Love Philip, Pauline, Brian and Joan.

    Fishing Tactics: Tipped snowman worked best

    18 Carp: 6 x 30s, 10 x 20s and 2 teens.

  7. Bob and Viv Osborne-Carey

    26th Week Fishing Oakview Lake

    By Bob and Viv Osborne-Carey on 31 August 2019

    Bob's 26th week fishing Oakview at Lake and he clocks up yet another personal record. He's been trying to beat his personal Oakview tally of 23 fish for years. Bob came close on many occasions and equalled it in the past. This time he cracks it with 24 carp. Well done Bob - you didn't even have to make up the numbers with a grass carp!

    Fishing Tactics: Krill bottom baits worked best.

    2 x 40s, 8 x 30s, 12 x 20s and 2 x 18s.

  8. Paul Jeive

    Family Week

    By Paul Jeive on 24 August 2019

    Week spent mostly with family. Didn't fish 'til afternoons and then through to midnight. One night up until 3am.

    Fishing and Tactics: Temperatures 22 degrees one day, then 27 - 36 the rest of the week. Caught in usual spots right and left of the island from the Home Swim. Baits used this time were Nash Coconut Creme.

    15 Carp: 1 x 40, 5 x 30s, 8 x 20s and 1 x 12lb grass carp

  9. Minne and Wendy de Swart

    Paradise Revisited

    By Minne and Wendy de Swart on 17 August 2019

    Paradise revisited. Great to be back for our annual visit - peace and quiet and time to relax in a great environment. Oakview always delivers. Great to see Martin and Shirley for a catch up. The other thing Oakview delivers on is the fish.

    Fishing Tactics: I fished 5 days during our stay - breakfast 'til dinner time. Complex T boilies.

    20 carp: 4 x 40s, 9 x 30s, 3 x 20s and 4 under 20 (including a grass carp).

  10. Dave, Jeanette and Jessie Callow

    Superb as Usual

    By Dave, Jeanette and Jessie Callow on 10 August 2019

    Superb as usual. This was our 4th time here and disappointed we couldn't get booked on for another return in 2020. Fully booked due to quality and popularity of venue - speaks for itself and hopefully be back in 2021. Martin and Shirley have produced a peach of a venue, which they must be proud of. Thank you for looking after us so well - we had another lovely chilled out family holiday, Thinking of you both. All the best - Callow family.

    Fishing Tactics: Tight baiting to known spots, using Cell over particle.

    26 carp: 1 x 40, 9 x 30s, 11 x 20s and 5 under 20 (including a grass carp). As well as catching carp in the main lake, Jessie also had great fun catching carp, roach and tench in the stock pond.

  11. Carsten Madsen

    3rd Visit

    By Carsten Madsen on 3 August 2019

    This is our third visit to Oakview. It's a very beautiful lake and the house is perfect. martin and Shirley are very nice people and very helpful. It has been a very good week with our family and we hope to come again. Carsten & Joan, Martin & Diana and Mikkel & Ida - Denmark

    Fishing Tactics: mainline baits. The fish are going round the island.

    1 x 39lb 8oz PB, 1 x 38lb and 2 x 20s.

  12. Gaz & Co

    Very Nice Lake

    By Gaz & Co on 27 July 2019

    Very nice lake with good facilities and it was a pleasure to be here. We had over 20 fish throughout the week, which we are really pleased with. Would definitely recommend Oakview to others.

    Fishing Tactics: Sticky Bait Krill caught all of the fish. Spots were mid water on both sides of the island and just off the island willow.

    1 x 40 (PB), 4 x 30s, 10 x 20s, 3 grass carp (16 - 18lb) and a 4lb pike.

  13. Adam Smith

    3rd Visit

    By Adam Smith on 20 July 2019

    This is the 3rd time for me at Oakview. Martin and Shirley have always been fantastic hosts and the lodge and facilities are always clean and tidy. The fishing proved to be difficult due to the ongoing hot weather, but we still managed some nice carp.

    Oakview Lake, Martin and Shirley will always hold a place in my heart. Fantastic people and an absolute pleasure to know them. Thank you both for all you have done for us. Love you both X.

    Fishing Tactics: Bottom baits and snowman. Fish came from evening to early morning (fish not interested during the heat of the afternoon).

    Catch: 2 x 40s, 1 x 30, 3 x 20s and 1 x 17lb grassy. Catch included a 40lb PB for Ian.

  14. Gary Butler

    Great Week

    By Gary Butler on 13 July 2019

    Great week: We fished here for the first time and also had not fished for carp for a while, so we were a bit rusty. The lake is very nice - perfect for us to fish, with lots of features to fish to and the home swim was perfect for a social. The accommodation is first class and really makes a difference for non anglers and also very comfortable for those fishing. Martin and Shirley are excellent hosts and nothing was too much trouble.

    Tactics and Fishing: The fish had spawned the previous week and had not really come on the feed as expected. The fishing therefore remained hard and the bites picky. However, we did miss a few and lost 2 or 3, but the fishing picked up towards the end of the week.

    All in all a fantastic week and we hope to be able to come here again.

    11 carp: 1 x 35 (PB), 4 x 20s, including a 22lb 8oz lake record grass carp, 3 teens (2 grass) and 3 smaller carp. Catch included 3 new PBs and the biggest grass carp caught at the lake so far.

  15. Pete Gibson & Steve Busby

    Fantastic Venue

    By Pete Gibson & Steve Busby on 6 July 2019

    This is our first visit to Oakview. Fantastic venue, superb lodge accommodation. Martin and Shirley are great hosts.

    Unfortunately the lake fished hard this week. A combination of late season spawning together with extreme hot weather proved too much.

    Despite this, we still managed to winkle out 4 fish with a PB 44lb common. Good news for those anglers turning up after us, seems like the spawning has finally ceased.

    We are already booked in for next year. Good luck!

    Fishing Tactics: Scent From Hell pop up and two 12mm Stinky Krill white pop ups caught the fish before they started spawning.

    1 x 44lb, 2 x 30s and 1 x 14lb.

  16. Bob Carey & Ray Green

    Record Temperatures

    By Bob Carey & Ray Green on 29 June 2019

    We've had another very enjoyable time, with a variety of weather; wet, cold & then extremely hot - 42 degrees! Thanks Martin & Shirley for making this a great place to visit.

    Fishing Conditions & Tactics: The fish were spawning (again!) at the beginning of the week and then they didn't seem too hungry (after the heatwave struck). White pop ups and Cell wafters worked best.

    2 x 30s, 2 x 20s (1 grass), 1 x 11lb (grass) and 1 x 6lb pike.

  17. Barnes/Selvey/Micallef

    A Gem!!

    By Barnes/Selvey/Micallef on 23 June 2019

    A massive thank you to Martin and Shirley for a fantastic holiday. Accommodation is first class. Lake fished hard this week, which seemed to be a common theme across the area. we still managed 10 fish between the 4 anglers, with 5 fish coming out in the last 24 hours. Congratulations on all your hard work. You own a gem!!!

    Fishing Tactics: Mix of baits and tactics caught the carp

    10 carp and 2 PBs: 1 x 30, 7 x 20s and 2 under 20lb.

  18. Paul Shaw and Jenny Meider

    5 Star As Usual

    By Paul Shaw and Jenny Meider on 15 June 2019

    The ever changing weather conditions had an effect on the fish feeding, but as usual the accommodation and lake still rates 5 stars.

    Fishing Tactics: Mix of baits caught fish - Vortex Squid Liver, Classic corn pop up and VSL.

    Caught 5 fish up to 36lb 3oz. See you next year.

  19. Jason Rainbow

    Another Fantastic Week

    By Jason Rainbow on 8 June 2019

    Another fantastic week at Oakview! Whilst the weather and some spawning presented challenges, we still managed 11 fish, including 4 forties and two PBs of 47lb 8oz and 43lb 8oz. When the fish weren't biting the amazing lodge and generous hospitality of Martin and Shirley provided the relaxing holiday we came for! Already looking forward to next year!!

    Fishing Tactics: Banana boilies over beds of particle worked best.

    Catch: 4 x 40s, 3 x 30s, 3 x 20s, 1 small carp and 1 grass carp (14lb 10oz).

  20. Bob Osborne-Carey & Ray Green

    Amazing Oakview Never Lets Me Down

    By Bob Osborne-Carey & Ray Green on 1 June 2019

    Amazing Oakview, you never let me down. Still able to break my PB after all these years fishing here - this time with a 48lb 6oz common.