Oakview Lake Reviews

All of these 5 stars are for real - you'll find the exact same hand-written versions on the bookshelf in the lodge.

  1. Paul Shaw and Jenny Meider

    5 Star As Usual

    By Paul Shaw and Jenny Meider on 15 June 2019

    The ever changing weather conditions had an effect on the fish feeding, but as usual the accommodation and lake still rates 5 stars.

    Fishing Tactics: Mix of baits caught fish - Vortex Squid Liver, Classic corn pop up and VSL.

    Caught 5 fish up to 36lb 3oz. See you next year.

  2. Jason Rainbow

    Another Fantastic Week

    By Jason Rainbow on 8 June 2019

    Another fantastic week at Oakview! Whilst the weather and some spawning presented challenges, we still managed 11 fish, including 4 forties and two PBs of 47lb 8oz and 43lb 8oz. When the fish weren't biting the amazing lodge and generous hospitality of Martin and Shirley provided the relaxing holiday we came for! Already looking forward to next year!!

    Fishing Tactics: Banana boilies over beds of particle worked best.

    Catch: 4 x 40s, 3 x 30s, 3 x 20s, 1 small carp and 1 grass carp (14lb 10oz).

  3. Bob Osborne-Carey & Ray Green

    Amazing Oakview Never Lets Me Down

    By Bob Osborne-Carey & Ray Green on 1 June 2019

    Amazing Oakview, you never let me down. Still able to break my PB after all these years fishing here - this time with a 48lb 6oz common.

  4. James, Phil & Derek

    Like Home from Home

    By James, Phil & Derek on 26 May 2019

    First of all I'd like to thank Martin and Shirley we couldn't ask for a better place to come and relax We could sit there all day and not even worry about catching fish but we did!

    It's just like home from home now can't wait to come back next year and the year after and the year after that.

    Fishing Tactics: One fished from home swim, one on left bank and one on far bank.

    21 Carp: 1 x 40, 10 x 30s, 6 x 20s, 3 under 20 and 1 x 16lb grass carp.

  5. Phil and Janet Calladine

    Another Great Week

    By Phil and Janet Calladine on 18 May 2019

    Another great week at Oakview. Martin and Shirley as always are excellent hosts, but we now call them close friends. The accommodation is first class with all the amenities you could wish for. Fishing was great and we're back later in the year and 2020 and 2021!!

    Fishing Tactics: 2 x nutcrunch boilies. Caught from the home swim, then moved to the far side to be closer to showing fish.

    11 Carp: 3 x 40s, 4 x 30s, 2 x 20s, 1 x 15lb and 1 x grass carp (16lb).

  6. Carpenter Family

    Really Nice Lake With Lovely Fish

    By Carpenter Family on 11 May 2019

    Really nice lake with lovely fish. The lodge is nice sand clean, Shirley and Martin are polite and very helpful. I would definitely recommend friends and family to come here for a relaxing holiday. Thank you for another lovely week - Stuart, Michelle, Liam and Jasmine.

    Fishing Tactics: Two 10mm Scent From Hell (white) pop ups with boilie freebies worked best.

    Total: 19 Carp -1 x 50, 5 x 40s, 6 x 30s, 5 x 20s and 2 under 20lb.

  7. Sheppard & Banford Family

    Beautiful Lake

    By Sheppard & Banford Family on 27 April 2019

    The lake is beautiful and the facilities are excellent! Maybe find some instructions of how to use the oven because it's very confusing to use. Apart from that, everything is wonderful!!! A very relaxing week and children enjoyed naming each fish caught. Shirley and Martin made sure we were okay with everything in the lodge and nothing was too much trouble - very good hosts.

    Note from Shirley: Oops, thanks for that - the instruction manual for the new cooker has now been placed in the lodge.

    Fishing Tactics: Boilie over pellet in different spots around the lake.

    22 fish in total: 2 x 40s, 9 x 30s, 5 x 20s and 4 under 20lb (including a 17lb grass carp and carp from the stock pond. Also caught a 6lb pike and a tench from the stock pond.

  8. No photos available

    First Class Facilities

    By James Legate and Ash Hayes on 3 November 2018

    The facilities are first class: clean, tidy and everything you need. Martin and Shirley are great people, who make you feel very relaxed and welcome. Unfortunately we had a difficult week on the lake - the weather was against us with big changes every day. Apart from that, a great week and would love to come back.

    Watch out for the laughing duck, which loves it when you catch nothing haha.

    Fishing Conditions: Cold north winds switched to chilly easterlies, then weather changed to to high pressure with freezing cold nights and finally changed again to cool westerly breezes. A big well done to the guys for a dogged and determined effort in very poor fishing conditions.

  9. Daniel Ryder

    Recommend This Fishery

    By Daniel Ryder on 27 October 2018

    Will not hesitate to recommend this fishery. The quality of the fish was amazing and we plan to come back. In all an excellent break away from home.

    Fishing Conditions & Tactics: Weather very changeable. Lost some fish at first before changing tactics and searching out the hard spots, which resulted in 2 mid 30s.

  10. Duncan de Gruchy and Tony Senior

    Excellent

    By Duncan de Gruchy and Tony Senior on 20 October 2018

    Excellent, relaxing holiday. Martin and Shirley were fantastic hosts and made our stay very enjoyable. Weather was not great for catching, but nice for a holiday. Our 7th visit and will be back again for more of the same!

    Fishing and tactics: Holiday was cut short because outbound ferry got cancelled. Just started catching when it was time to go home: 41lb common, 37lb 12oz mirror, 31lb 12oz mirror and a pike.

  11. Travelling Minnows

    Congenial Atmosphere

    By Travelling Minnows on 14 October 2018

    Unfortunately on our visit the water level was down considerably which made the fishing difficult. However, some beautiful fish were caught including some stunning commons.

    We all found the facilities to be first class. So all in all a very relaxing and congenial atmosphere.

    Catches: 18 in total - 2 x 40's, 8 x 30's, 8 x 20's, 1 x 4lb 8oz


  12. Minne and Wendy de Swart

    Top Location & Accommodation With Great Fishing

    By Minne and Wendy de Swart on 6 October 2018

    We did not visit the lake in 2017 due to other holidays. 2018 and how great it is to be back and I can honestly say that everything was how we remembered it. Top location and accommodation with great fishing.

    On the weather front we have worn everything from fleeces & coats to needing suntan lotion. Great to see Martin & Shirley and to catch up over a glass of wine and a beer. We are booked 2019 and 2020 - no more missing a year.

    Fishing and Tactics: Fished Sunday to Friday, days only with the exception of Thursday night (warm night forecast and made the most of it). All fish came on Tiger Nut Red Amo and Complex T boilies. Bottom baits tipped with plastic corn worked best.

    12 carp: 2 x 40s, 5 x 30s, 4 x 20s and 1 x 13lb carp.

  13. Victor and Kevin Priest

    Absolutely Fabulous Venue

    By Victor and Kevin Priest on 29 September 2018

    We have visited Oakview several times in the past few years and plan to continue in the next few. Why you say? Because Oakview is an absolutely fabulous venue, loads of large carp in pristine condition (my personal best so far was 44lb 8oz and my son's weighed 40lb 4oz.

    The accommodation is very clean, tidy and comfortable and nothing is too much trouble for our hosts Shirley and Martin to help make our vacation an enjoyable success. Long may they continue, and long may we continue to share the results of the excellent fishing and services which they provide.

    Fishing and Tactics: Used the usual baits and tactics at Oakview but the carp just switched off this week, with only the odd grass carp feeding.

  14. Andy Faith

    Brilliant Venue

    By Andy Faith on 22 September 2018

    Brilliant venue with everything you could ever need to enjoy a nice relaxing week of fishing. Lodge is clean and very well looked after. The fishing was brilliant - between us we caught 18/19 fish up to 46lb, with three people smashing their PBs. Martin and Shirley are excellent hosts who couldn't have looked after us any better and provide everything we could ever need. We are already planning our Oakview return and CANNOT wait to be back. Thank you so much.

    Fishing Tactics: Cell, Monster Tigernut boilies and Complex T all caught fish.

    Catch: 3 x 40s, 6 x 30s, 7 x 20s and 2 under 20 (including a grass).

  15. Phil English and Brian Latheron

    Always Great

    By Phil English and Brian Latheron on 15 September 2018

    Our holiday at Oakview Lake has flown by. Once again Martin and Shirley have been perfect hosts. The fishing has been a little tricky due to weather conditions, but we still managed three 40lb+ fish (2 late at night, so no photos of those). The accommodation is excellent, especially for the non anglers! Always great to be here and looking forward to next year.

  16. Paul & Janice

    Lake Reserved For Family Holiday

    By Paul & Janice on 8 September 2018

    Paul and Janice fished Oakview this week. Catch: 7 x 30s, 8 x 20s, 1 x 18 and 1 x 19lb.

  17. Bob and Viv Osborne-Carey

    Fantastic Fortnight

    By Bob and Viv Osborne-Carey on 25 August 2018

    Once again we've had a fantastic fortnight. Bob has enjoyed himself immensely & I have more than recharged my batteries ready for work. Best fishing session Bob has ever had, and he's had a few!

    Fishing Tactics: Manilla pop ups caught the most.

    Catch: 40 fish - 8 x 40s, 17 x 30s, 10 x 20s and 5 under 20lb (including 2 grass carp).

  18. Terri and Waine Morgan

    Awesome and Outstanding

    By Terri and Waine Morgan on 18 August 2018

    Awesome and outstanding. Oakview is everything we remembered and more. The weather was perfect and we were lucky enough to watch the netting, which was great to see. The fishing has been out of this world - lots of big fish caught and the occasional little ones. Terri very excited to catch her PB 41lb mirror. Martin and Shirley are the perfect hosts and great friends and we look forward to our next holiday here.

    Netting: Oakview Lake was netted at the start of Terri and Waine's 2 week stay. You can watch the netting video here: Oakview Lake Netting August 2018

    Fishing Tactics: The carp came on the feed 2 days after the lake was netted. The main tactic was to go after showing fish. As soon as one spot dried up, new spots could be established very quickly. The catches came during a 10 day period between the 8th and the 17th August.

    Total catch: 40 fish - 4 x 40s, 19 x 30s, 8 x 20s, 5 under 20, 3 grass carp and a pike.

  19. Jessie, Jeanette and Dave Callow

    Lovely Jubbly

    By Jessie, Jeanette and Dave Callow on 4 August 2018

    Another superb and chilled out family holiday, which included a lovely day out at the beautiful sea side resort of St Malo. Perfect venue, perfect hosts and thank you for looking after us so well. See you next year.

    Fishing tactics: Fished Cell over particle to known spots.

    Catch: 3 x 40s, 2 x 30s, 5 x 20s and 2 grass carp (12 and 13lb).

  20. Peter, Sharon and Ellie Lang

    Absolutely Fabulous

    By Peter, Sharon and Ellie Lang on 28 July 2018

    Absolutely fabulous return for our annual visit to Oakview. Grounds so peaceful and the lodge so well equipped. It was lovely to catch up with wonderful hosts Shirley and Martin. Thank you guys for making our visits so relaxing and stress free. With the 2017 drought over it was great to see the lake looking so natural with the water level fully restored. Lodge is immaculately clean and comfortable. 51 weeks and counting for our 4th visit.

    Fishing & Tactics: Weather was fiercely hot and the fish all came out at the dead of night. Snowman presentation over crushed boilies and particles, with hardened hook baits to beat the fry.

    Catch: 3 x 30s, 1 x 20 and 2 x grass carp to 20lb 12 oz.